Family Frenzy

As much as I love the holidays, I’m always happy when they are over because I can return to my regular family/eating routines. I love spending time with family enjoying wonderful Southern food but after all those heavy meals and late night visits with family, I’m ready for some downtime and to get back into a routine. Yes, I’m an introvert and I need some quiet time in the evening after a long day to read and decompress.

I love a new year but January also brings the busiest time of the year for my husband. The dreaded busy/tax season in which I virtually become a single mom as my husband works long hours, six plus days a week.

I have really enjoyed my half marathon training, but I think for my sanity, I will take a break from training for longer races and aim for shorter, speedier runs. I just don’t have as much time to squeeze in long runs on the weekends, so I’ll aim for quality, speedy runs over quantity (long runs).

All the while, I hope I can keep my base up to train for some longer races next fall.

So, I’m not going to make any goals for 2013 but I do have some things I would like to work on:

1) Speed – pick up my pace and enjoy some 5k/10k races in the Spring so that I can have a great base for a fall half and possibly a full marathon by the end of the year

2) Start cross-training/core work at least once a week – I need to get back into Yoga!

3) Declutter my house – after Christmas, I realized that I need to organize/clean out more of our toys, closets, etc.

4) Work on my patience with my kids

5) Focus on cleaner eating

6) Attend my weekly bible study and take some time for a quick, daily devotional in the evenings

7) Spend less time on the internet/mindless web surfing at night

Lately though, with the business of my two small children, if I can have the house semi-organized, dinner, cooked, laundry done, and some time in the day for a run, I consider that a good day!

I’ll close with some pictures from the holidays….

20121228-210406.jpg

20121228-210417.jpg

20121228-210439.jpg

20121228-210454.jpg

Leave a Reply

