The Long Run

My half marathon training plan called for an eleven mile long run this weekend. I went to bed Friday night determined to get up Saturday morning for my run. I tossed and turned all night, was feeling run down from the holidays, and just could not get myself up and out of the bed.

I felt grumpy and frustrated all day Saturday. So, I set my alarm for 5:20 on Sunday morning and was determined to complete my run.

The baby woke me up at 5 am Sunday morning ready for her feeding. I was tired but got her fed and back in bed. At this point, all I wanted to do was head back to my bed, snuggle under the covers, and go back to sleep.

I checked the temperature, it was 30 degrees.

Again, I thought about my warm bed.

Instead, I got dressed, had a quick breakfast, downed some water, and was out the door by 5:45 to start my run. The first mile felt great but by the second mile, my legs felt dead and I was just felt tired.

I told myself to run the first six miles (or until it was light out), and then I could stop for a quick water break, grab a few sports beans, and turn on my music.

Miles six through nine were a blur as I jammed to my tunes to help the miles pass by. By mile ten, I knew I was going to complete my run, despite my fatigue. This was my longest training run since I got pregnant last October, and it felt great to be back in the game.

Mile 1: 8:49
Mile 2: 8:44
Mile 3: 8:22
Mile 4: 8:23
Mile 5: 8:19
Mile 6: 8:26
Mile 7: 8:22
Mile 8: 8:16
Mile 9: 8:14
Mile 10: 8:12
Mile 11: 8:10

After I finished, I took a minute to cooldown, ready to start another day. I love the feeling of finishing a great run only to walk in and see my littles in their jammies enjoying breakfast and playing in the kitchen. It reminds me of all I have to be thankful for. Waking up at 5 am to run after long days at home with two small children is the toughest thing I have ever done. It make my college running days (where I had plenty of time to rest after runs), feel like a breeze. I’m not sure why I endure such training at this phase in my life, knowing I have very little rest or downtime in my life. But, I do, and I love every minute of it!

3 thoughts on “The Long Run

  1. I totally remember those runs from when Jasper was little, and yes, I too thought “How on earth was I ever tired pre-kid?” That is an awesome run though. Good luck at your half.

    • Thanks! I keep thinking how easy running could be when I am well rested. But, with two small kids, it might be a while before I feel like my pre-kid days. But, I think that makes me appreciate it more now that I have to be purposeful and plan for some running time!

  2. For being tired, you ran a fantastic pace! I have such a hard time getting up on cold mornings, too. But as you described, coming back afterward is the best feeling!

Leave a Reply

