Happy New Year

I’ve only been a parent for a few years, but since having kids, our New Year’s Eve plans are a lot more low-key.

Last night, we put the kids in bed at their usual bedtimes and watched our alma mater, Louisiana State University play a terrible game only to lose against the Clemson Tigers in the Chick-Fil-A bowl.

After five plus months of non-consecutive sleep combined with my half marathon training, I still never feel fully rested. So, like the grandma that I have become, I was asleep by 10:45 pm. The glamorous party life I lead.

We had a quiet New Year’s Day at home. It was a rainy day, so I made my first attempt at Hoppin’ John to ensure we had our black eyed peas for luck and some cornbread. I guess we won’t be seeing any wealth this year because I did not attempt cabbage. I don’t care for cabbage or collard greens, so I hated to waste money on making it.

My five month old is teething and my three year old was a little stir crazy from the rain so we had to get creative with arts and crafts and movie/rest time in her tent. While they rested, I hopped on the treadmill to start the year off with an easy five mile run.

20130101-194953.jpg

20130101-195001.jpg

20130101-195013.jpg

It was a quiet start to 2013, but I’m enjoying my rest. I’m scheduled to meet my training group at 5:20 am in the morning, so I’m hoping this teething baby lets me get some rest tonight.

I read this bible verse today during my morning reflection (something I am hoping to take time to do this year), and I think it is a great mindset for me to start off 2013:

“And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.” (Romans 12:2 KJV)

Happy New Year! I’ll close with some pictures from a typical evening/day at our home.

20130101-200122.jpg

20130101-200131.jpg

One thought on “Happy New Year

  1. I love that verse! And yes, I was in bed about the same time on New year’s eve. Not willing to sacrifice sleep just to say I made it to midnight. 🙂 Happy new year to you, too!

Leave a Reply

