The Double…

With my oldest, I got into a nice rhythm where she would sleep until about 6:30 or 7:00 am.  I would be able to get up at 5ish am, after a full night’s rest, and fit in a quick morning run.

I survived training for a fall half marathon and completed the race just six months after having youngest. But after that, things just fell apart. I got sick, the baby got sick, I was up all hours of the night with the baby. I just felt TIRED and really unmotivated to get up and run.

Now that youngest is old enough to ride in the jogging stroller, I decided to break out my double BOB. I was lucky to find a used BOB on craigslist a few months ago. I thought, for the price, I could have a great double stroller to use for runs, trips to the zoo with the girls, etc.

I took my first run in it last week with the girls. Yikes, it was hard. Not, as tough as I expected but definitely not easy. I made it for an easy three miles before I decided to call it a day.

I really wanted to get up and run this morning but slept in once again (if you consider waking up at 6:30 sleeping in as that is the time I have to be up to get Oldest ready for preschool). So, after I dropped her off, I took youngest for a ride. My goal was four miles. I was dying as I pushed the stroller into the wind and I need to work on my upper body strength. But,  I’m grateful for the opportunity to have time to run. After taking some time enough to get over my cold and catch up on rest, I needed to get out, get some fresh air, get away from the treadmill and enjoy a run. Now that my husband is ramping up busy season and will be working weekends, I foresee lots of runs with the girls in the double BOB, followed by park playdates/picnics.

I may not be able to stick to my routine 5:30 am runs anymore, but I’ll take any miles or opportunity to run I can get. Plus, it doesn’t hurt for the baby to get in some extra rest after a fussy afternoon.

photo (3)

4 thoughts on “The Double…

  1. Impressive! I love the idea of the double but have often wondered what it’s like to push… the single is tiring enough as it is!

  2. That stroller picture is adorable! I do the single all the time but cannot imagine the double!

  3. A. I am loving your blog design. LOVING.
    B. I really admire your dedication to your running, Stephanie. It’s a good reminder to those of us who have far less on our hands and much more free time that we should try to make time for exercise. It’s so worth it. 🙂

    • thanks katherine! It is so worth it. Plus, you can’t beat the fabulous weather we are having this time of year. I miss seeing what you are up to on fb but I’ll be back online after lent:)

Leave a Reply

