Road Tripping…

photo (6)

Last week, I piled my two young kids in the car with my mom for a 9+ hour trip to Nashville, TN to visit my sister’s family.

It was a long ride in the car with two young kids. But, thankfully, youngest is a great traveler. Unlike her sister, she did not scream in her car seat like oldest did when she was a baby on our first road trip to Nashville three years ago. Thankfully, Oldest is better in the car as she is happy to watch movies, play games, and listen to music in the car.

All in all, it was a nice weekend away from the routine at home. The cousins have a great time playing and me,  my mom, and sister enjoyed  spending some much needed time together.

I took a break from running last week and only ran a few miles but this was after a buildup week in mileage in which I was able to squeeze in 30 miles/week. This is the most I have run since I’ve had youngest and it feels nice to get the mileage back up again. I’m finally getting a full night’s rest and that helps so much with my energy/pace. Youngest wakes up in the middle of the night occasionally but she consistently sleeps until 6:30 or 7ish. This makes 5 am runs on the treadmill possible since I can count on getting a decent’ night’s rest if I am in bed by 9:30ish.

So, perhaps I can take the spring/summer to build some mileage. I received an e-mail from our local marathon director for 10% coupon off the race entry fee if you sign up early. So, I did something crazy.

I signed up for the full marathon in January ?! Eeek, I have no clue if I will actually be ready but I make take the summer/fall to build up and train for it. And it feels like too much with my young kids, I’ll just drop back to the full.

I have gone back and forth about signing up for the full. Not, that I am scared of the race or the training. But, I just want to be able to not be so busy/tired from training that my family suffers for it.

So…we’ll see. But for now, at least I have something to work towards.

 

One thought on “Road Tripping…

  1. That is great you signed up for a marathon. You will be tired. The 20 mile run days with kids will be hard. But it’s so worth it. It will feel great to set a big goal for you and hit it. You can do it!

Leave a Reply

