Where Has Summer Gone?

We are almost halfway through July and I am wondering where summer has gone? It has gone by so quickly! After our trip to Florida, we had a week at home and then packed our bags again to head on another 15+ hour road trip to meet our new niece in Chicago:) It was a two day trip to make it up there but the girls were great travelers. I was so impressed at how good they were in the car. Sure, we had to make lots of stops for lunch, gas, potty breaks, and diaper changes. But all in all, it was a wonderful experience to visit family. Plus, the cooler weather was a nice break from the heat in Louisiana. We love visiting them in their little suburb of Chicago and had fun walking downtown, playing at Centennial Beach, and enjoying Ribfest and other fourth of July festivities.

We are in town this week and heading back on the road Saturday for my nephew’s fifth birthday followed by Audrey’s first birthday weekend celebration on July 20th. I can’t believe my baby is already a year old. Last year at this time, I was on the couch, waiting for her arrival. Now, she is pulling up and crawling all over the place. Life has gotten quite busy with two very busy, active girls.

Needless to say, with all these summer travels, my summer training has slacked off a bit. But, I think this was a good thing to enjoy some time off for vacation and let my shins heal. I was able to meet up for our mid-week Wednesday morning group run ( a group of five great women runners who just rocked the Boston Marathon and Grandma’s Marathon a few weeks ago). I hope some solid training with these ladies for the rest of the summer will help me to continue to build a steady base for the fall. Plus, I finally got my damaged Garmin back so all is right in the world:)

20130711-154017.jpg

20130711-154029.jpg

20130711-154123.jpg

20130711-154132.jpg

20130711-154147.jpg

Leave a Reply

