I’m Out

After my workout in the dark last Thursday morning, I attempted an easy morning run with my running buddy, Katy. I always enjoy our easy morning runs and chats.

I have not run two consecutive days all summer because of my shins and I took the first step on the run and was once again in pain. It always hurts when I start and put pressure on it.

So, instead of attempting to let it heal by taking a day or two off and running when I only feel a little pain at the beginning of the run, I’m going to strengthen, ice, ibuprofen, and stretch until I am able to START a run without any pain.

Needless to say, I get stressed when I don’t run. I’ve eaten all the chocolate in my house. I think I naturally have a bit of an anxious, worrisome personality and running/exercise has always been my therapy of choice. My husband has been working all holiday weekend to get ready for his fall filing deadlines. My house is a wreck, the kids are a bit stir crazy. But it is so hot to be out in the heat of the day and after a few weeks scheduling fun activities/playdates/outings, I’m not in the mood to do any more planning.

Thankfully, school starts tomorrow and a new routine will begin. I don’t do well without structure so I’m excited about having a schedule and more to do’s. If I have too much free time, I tend to push everything off and plan on doing my chores another day.

Hopefully, by this time next week, I’ll be able to run again, school will be in full swing and all will be right in the world:)

Meanwhile, youngest is doing a great job of organizing my kitchen. She loves to take everything out of the cabinets, drawers, boxes and looks at me with her cute face, fully expecting me to clean it up for her so she can take everything out all over again:)

4 thoughts on “I’m Out

  1. I didn’t know you had a blog. I will have to go back and read some of them! Hope you are able to join us soon.

  2. thanks katherine, I actually wrote this a few weeks ago but I realized I never published it. I’ve taken about two weeks off and have done a few easy runs over the past week and they feel better. Thank you for sending the video, it was very helpful! Now, I just need to make sure that when I do start building again that I don’t aggravate my shins:) Plus, focus more on core/strength work which I tend to neglect. I started doing some weights over the past week and I definitely need to not neglect the strength/core!

  3. I hope your leg responds well to some rest. I know what you mean about exercise being a form of therapy, since I always feel so much better when I do! Personally, I tend to bottle things up inside, and exercise in general helps relieve that stress. Hopefully a little bit of a schedule change will help you during your downtime, too, with school starting. Keep us posted on your leg. I’m getting worried you might have a stress fracture or something. 😦

Leave a Reply

