Grateful

I am sitting in my kitchen with my coffee. It is just after 7 am. I woke up early for a quick five mile treadmill run, hopped in the shower, dried my hair, and put on some comfy clothes and slippers. It is Christmas Eve and the house is quiet. I love these quiet mornings where I can sip my coffee and have some quiet time. I’m thankful that we don’t have to rush out the door this morning to head to carpool. I am thankful that I have the freedom and ability to enjoy Christmas with my family.

I did some baking earlier this week and I’ve noticed lately that I feel very grateful and content with my life.  I have spent years either wanting things I don’t have or stressing over small things that don’t really matter. As I was preparing a dish for our family dinner, I realized that  shifted my focus towards an attitude of gratefulness rather than looking at the things I don’t have.  And as expected, I actually actually feel more content and at peace with my life. I know this sounds so simple. But, when you are constantly bombarded with images on Facebook/Instagramof friends or family members who may have more, travel more, do more, etc., it is so easy to have an attitude of discontent where you feel like the grass is always greener on the other side.

A few things I am thankful for:

  • Family – both my own family and extended family. I’m so thankful for my hardworking husband and two beautiful, healthy girls.
  • Faith – I’m thankful for my church and for my bible study moms who have taught me so much and shared so much about their faith life.
  • Financial Stability – we are able to live a comfortable life and my husband has a job where I am able to stay home and still provide for the needs of our family.
  • Running – I’m so happy to have found an early morning run group. I love having time to meet friends for early morning group runs.
  • Coffee, music, sunny skies, cool fall days, lsu football, our home, good food/wine, martinis….

I read that the season of Advent, much like lent is a time of quiet preparation for the arrival of Christ. Although we tend to focus on the joy and festivities, it is also a time of reflection. I suppose I don’t always take the time for this preparation, but I do think that  pausing to reflect on things we are grateful for is a good exercise. And of course, realizing that Advent is the time to reflect on one of our greatest gifts/blessings, the birth of a Savior.

 

Leave a Reply

