New 10k Pr

I ran the Mardi Gras Mambo 10k last month and came out with a 10k pr.  Granted, I have only run a non-pregnant 10k once in the past 10+ years, I was happy to at least beat my time from 2011.

I had a very busy Friday (company in town for Valentine’s Day), kids who refused to rest/nap, and lots of chores to prep for visitors, so when I started off the race Saturday morning, I just felt tired. But, the weather was perfect (despite the hills on the course), and I just settled into a fast pace and tried to hold on for the race.

My splits were (6:51, 6:56, 6:53, 7:07, 7:04, 6:53, 1:52/6:42) for the last .28. I actually told myself to hold the pace back a little because after running the first three miles fast, I was scared of crashing and burning on the last mile. I was very tired in the last mile but I think with more training, I can hold onto the faster pace for the race. We’ll see:)

Total: 43:35/6.28 miles/6:58 pace and third female overall (all my fast friends ran the 15k).

I do think the longer runs and more rest now that Audrey consistently sleeps at night helps. I have a 5k and 10k scheduled in April so I’m hoping I can improve a bit on those times.

Now…if I can just survive the rest of busy season. Alright, off to finish coffee and fold some more laundry.

Leave a Reply

